Regis Auffray

Regis Auffray, poetry, short stories, personal quotes

Withdrawal

with 3 comments

Withdrawaldesert-woman-a

Unwittingly

I have trespassed

A burden to others

I do not want to be

To share and put upon others

This endless darkness

Relentless hopelessness

I withdraw

I shall seek strength

In the desert within

Endless dunes of solitude

Though somber shadows

Seek to surround me

Despair

Doubt

Anxiety

These vultures observe from above

Circling

Slowly circling

Relentlessly circling

Waiting for me to falter

Hoping for me to fall

But I shall not fear

I shall strive on

Seeking an oasis

And hope

For inner peace

Within

Asking nothing

Of anyone

And should my time here be done

I shall rest upon the sand

And sleep

And perhaps awaken

To a sky free of vultures

© Régis Auffray
Written by Regis Auffray

February 26, 2017 at 4:57 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. As usual, WordPress has not posted my poem according to my formatting specifications, namely spaces between stanzas. Oh well, that does not alter the theme. ~ Régis

    Regis Auffray

    February 26, 2017 at 4:58 pm

  2. Your poem reminds me of the story/movie “The Sea Within” – a similar dark theme, though your ends on a positive note. You’ll find your sky free of vultures, you’ll see.

    Sha'Tara

    February 26, 2017 at 7:48 pm

    • Well, you have managed (once again) to bring tears to my eyes with your meaningful last sentence (not that the whole of your comment is not meaningful and heartfelt). Thank you for this gift.

      Regis Auffray

      February 26, 2017 at 8:34 pm


Leave a Reply

